Do You Hear What I Hear?

Do You Hear What I Hear?

(mking the Seas Curv loudspeaker)

WordPress gives me a bit of information: what blog pages are viewed, what search engine terms were used to get to the blog, and what countries people are from.

Not a big surprise, most visitors are searching for something related to Spendor or Troels Gravesen, and the posts that get the most views are my comparisons of Spendor SP2/3 to the CNO, and the Spendor S3/5 to the Seas Curv.

I thought it would be interesting to see if I could let you, the reader, hear what I hear. That is, I wondered if I could record my speakers and see if you can hear the differences I hear. The problem is that I don’t have a recording studio, and the only way I know to host a soundfile is to make a video slideshow with music on youtube.

So, here is my first experiment – a few minutes of music reproduced by the Seas Curv loudspeaker, and recorded with a Sure SM-57 microphone. I picked music that I thought would demonstrate a few things: naturalness of voice (both soprano range and lower male voices), some instrumental including brass, saxophone, piano, and drums. I used an E-MU 0204 to take the signal from the microphone, digitize it in 24 bit, and send it to my Apple laptop computer. I edited (cut) the sound samples with GarageBand, and maintained full resolution until the final export.

It is important to realize that the microphone itself has a frequency response curve that is not flat – the low notes are rolled off, and the high notes are accentuated. The middle range though appears to be very flat and accurate.

This is my first attempt, so I will get better at it. I plan to go back and repeat the recordings with the Spendor S3/5 so you can compare what is captured by the microphone and “hear what I hear.”

*** Update 9/11/2013 ***
Although I believe a short sound clip for educational purposes is “fair use”, someone or some system recognized the source of one of my clips and I had to remove for alleged copyright violation. Also, I have been having difficulties with the E-MU 0204, so I have not been able to make further recordings. Hope to try again soon.

Video: Not currently On youtube

Leave a Reply

